“Remember” to Study, Study, Study!

For week 5’s first impression post, we are presented with the topic of memory. For my blog in particular, I will be analyzing and critiquing my own study habits. Later in my post, I will also be critiquing my study techniques for the first exam that was taken and what changes I may make in order to improve my score for Exam 2. Next week (week 6) we will be learning about memory and helpful study techniques in class so that I would be able to compare my own memorization techniques to what research says about improving memory for learned information. Although I believe that I benefit from my study techniques, I am hoping that I am able to learn more from this upcoming week’s lectures. I am hopeful to find different ways to recall information than what I have been practicing thus far. I am quite interested in seeing how alike or different my techniques of studying will stand compared to official research. I am always up to learning new memory/study techniques, especially as classes get more and more difficult.

Overall, the typical way I study for any class is in an analytical process. I typically will color code concepts in clusters, highlight important concepts (again, with various color coding techniques), write out my notes, make flashcards, and sometimes I will make my own review sheet for the exam/test. It is tedious to write down information again and again, but it is quite helpful (I find) so that I will remember it. The colors that I use to color code certain subjects helps me relay back to the main point(s) for the specific concept being asked. Sometimes I will rewrite my notes completely, or put chunks of what is vital to remember on flashcards (again, color coded). I will flip through my flashcards religiously until I know the information that is needed. In other circumstances, I will sometimes make my own review for the test. If I know what types of questions are expected to be asked, I will go further into detail with each. I typically make the review 2-3 days before the exam so that I can have one full day in between before I look back at the review to answer the questions on it without freshly going over the material.

For this class’ first exam, I made few flashcards with main concepts on them. I did not use the flashcard technique for this first exam. Instead, the main method that I used for the first exam was going back through my lecture notes and highlighting the points that I needed to know. I highlighted and/or underlined the concepts that were important to remember and look back over. I also went through the study guide that was provided, and made my own review for the test. After completing the review, I again color-coded the concepts that were important to recall. I did decently well on the first exam compared to the class average, as well as the max/min of the scores. I could have definitely done better, though. If I were to of taken advantage of more of my typical study techniques I think that my score would of came back higher than what it was. I had other classes that I was also studying for (Cellular Biology in particular) that must be reviewed over every day for at least 30 minutes. I think that I need to make a breaking point so that my brain can have a slight ‘resting’ stage from one class to another, especially so when studying for exams. I believe that this will help me retain information better. Next time we have an exam, I will be better prepared. I have already started to make flashcards as we go through each chapter so that it will not be as tedious to get all the material written out in preparation for the exam. I also to plan out more time than what I had before for this exam; we were coming back from softball games in Tennessee and Mississippi. I should have done my homework in a different order than what I did, so that I could have studied more on the bus for the psychology exam. I believe that time management is my greatest hardship for studying.

Author: cassiemcdaris

Austin College '19, Psychology Major, E.S.S. Minor

3 thoughts on ““Remember” to Study, Study, Study!”

  1. Hi Cassie,
    It seems like you have already developed quite effective study habits, gathering from what you said on doing well on the first exam. (Good job by the way) Moving on, you mentioned studying in an “analytical processing” method. What exactly did you mean by that? I believe that what you might have been suggesting was an example of effortful processing- the encoding when a person learns new information using your attention. It takes effort and you are consciously aware of yourself trying to learn and memorize the material.
    If you remember what Ian mentioned in class, it is beneficial for you to try to convert this effortful processing into something “effortless”. In other words, to try to encode the information using automatic processing. If you create scenarios and involve yourself in the material, by connecting as many things as possible to the terms and concepts, (which it seems like you do somewhat with your concept maps), then links will form and it will be a lot easier for you to retrieve the material you are trying to memorize! Maybe also try to make a demonstration or if that’s too difficult, be sure to write down demos done in class such as the one with the neural pathways with the class moving around to show the movements of the process; or, like the demonstration of writing down things with only a second to look.
    Maybe these strategies will be more effective and save you valuable time when studying!
    Good luck and hope this helps!

    Best, Christina

    Like

  2. Cassidy,
    Your study method actually sounds pretty similar to mine! I typically don’t use flashcards, but I also find it extremely helpful to hand write notes over again in a more compact and organized manner. I think color-coding, along with rewriting, helps both with muscle memory and with visualizing the words so concepts are easier to rewrite on the exam. Flashcards are definitely another very effective strategy to use, so it’s good to hear you make good use of them!
    Time management is one of the hardest things for many people. I think most have a pretty good idea of how they SHOULD manage their time with upcoming deadlines, but often a variety of things end of getting in the way and keep that plan from being executed. It’s always tough when you have two exams in one week, but I think your idea of resting from one exam to the next could be a good idea. You don’t want to overload yourself with information and get overwhelmed. Preparing for the exam as you’re learning new material in class sounds like a great way to keep on top of things so you don’t have to cram closer to your exam date.

    Sounds like you have some great study methods and solid goals for how to improve your study plan before your next exam. Stick to it, and you should do well!

    Like

Leave a comment